Fantastic dances

You are here:


Georg Friedrich Händel (1685-1759)

Suite No.5

Prélude, Allemande, Courante,Air with Variations “The Harmonious Blacksmith”

The Harmonious Blacksmith(in the original English: The Harmonious Blacksmith) is the name by which the last movement of Suite No.5, the aria with variations, for harpsichord is popularly known.

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Papillons Op.2

Schumann ‘s second work to be published and his first masterpiece, in which he evokes the festive atmosphere of a masquerade ball probably based on Friedrich Richter‘s novella Flegeljahre.

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835 -1921) / Franz Liszt

Dance Macabre

Symphonic poem by Saint-Saëns, transcribed by Liszt for the piano. This work is inspired by a poem by physician Henri Cazalis, a contemporary of Saint-Saëns, in which he hopes for a world for all without any difference, as after death.

Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983)
Sonata No.1 op.22

  1. Allegro marcato, II. Soon mystery,

III. Adagio molto appassionato, IV. Rough and stubborn

The first movement poses two contrasting themes that grow and evolve as the music progresses. The second movement is energetic and playful; the third is lyrical. The final movement is a sweeping toccata full of frenetic rhythms.