Recital by AI WATANABE

You are here:
Pianist Ai Watanabe was born in Japan and pursued her studies at Toho High School and University of Music in Tokyo, later specializing at the S. Cecilia Conservatory in Rome. In the first part of his recital a work of brilliant novelty and dynamism, the Piano Sonata no. 30 in E major,  op.109, conceived by Ludwig van Beethoven between 1819 and 1820, where great musician here explores the timbral universe of the piano as never before, giving the world once again an unknown beauty. The second part features Romeo and Juliet, a ballet by Sergei Prokofiev based on William Shakespeare’s tragedy of the same name, written between 1935 and 1936. In 1937 he transcribed ten pieces for piano. 

Ludwig van Beethoven   Sonata no. 30 op.109
I Lively, but not too lively
II Prestissimo
III Andante molto cantabile ed espressivo
Sergei Prokofiev  Romeo and Juliet, orp.75, 10 pieces for piano
People’s dance
Young Juliet
Montagues and Capulets
Friar Lawrence
Dance of maidens with lilies
Romeo and Juliet before death